Anglesey Disappointment For Frank Bird

Sunday, March 01, 2020

All good things come to an end, they say, and following five successive victories, Penrith-bornracing driver Frank Bird saw his winning streak concluded when he retired from today’s Lee Holland Memorial Rally at Anglesey.



The event formed the penultimate round of the 2019/2020 Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship with MSVR whereby the 20-year-old Cumbrian, along with Hexham co-driver Jack Morton, were still in with an outside chance of the title going into the event.


In the Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared Ford Focus WRC07, with backing from VisionTrack, Yuasa, Frank Bird Poultry, Hager, Mac Tools, Fuchs Silkolene and PBM, Frank was in control from the start and set fastest times on the opening two stages to lead by 30 seconds.


Looking to continue his amazing run of results stemming right the way back to December, all was going well on SS3 when disaster struck following a hard landing on a jump which broke the transmission. Despite the best efforts of the team, the damage was unrepairable meaning the challenge for both the outright rally win and the championship too, was over.


Frank Bird: “Unfortunately the winning run comes to an end, but it had to at some point althoughit’s still very disappointing. Up to that point the day was going well, we were leading by 30 seconds after two stages and felt like we were in control. But it all went wrong on Stage 3 where we had a hard landing after a jump, and I felt something break. The boys did their best to fix it and get us back out again, but it wasn’t to be so it’s a sad end to the day. Thanks to the Dom Buckley Motorsport team as well as Jack on the notes and of course my dad and our sponsors for making it possible. The plan is to bounce back on the next event.”


Picture courtesy of Steve McKenna, SMJ Photography

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Knockhill Stuart Easton Nicky Grist Stages Rally Brands Hatch Ford Focus WRC08 BSB Showdown Thruxton Wyedean Woodpecker Rally Be Wiser Ducati Team Silverstone Sepang RST Superbike TT Knockhill Stages Rally Vision Track VisionTrack Snetterton Stages Rally Red Bull Ring in Austria Wyedean Forest Rally Brno BTRDA Rally Series Michael Dunlop Josh Brookes Mugello Isle of Man TT Cadwell Park Cambrian Rally VisionTrack Ducati Ian Hutchinson Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship ​Tech 1 Racing Team Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Hungaroring Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Motegi Manx National Rally Christian Iddon Frank Bird Rallynuts Stages Rally Misano Ford Focus WRC07 Yas Marina Circuit Scott Redding Qatar Silkolene Paul Bird Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Grampian Forest Rally British Superbike Championship Glenn Irwin Ford MSA Formula Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Andrew Irwin Phillip Island BSB Champion Bentley Continental GT3 Red Bull Ring Aragon Oulton Park, Macau GP Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Carlisle Stages Rally Arden Motorsport Donington Rally Tech 1 Racing Team Hospice at Home Martin Jessopp Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Be Wiser Ducati V4R Hockenheim Valencia Jimmy Storrar Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship North West 200 Indianapolis Grand Prix Yonny Hernandez Donington Ducati Panigale R MSVR John McGuinness North West Stages Rally PBMUK Team Parker Racing Michael Laverty Snetterton Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Christmas Stages Rally Assen MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages James Ellison MotoGP Oulton Park Down’s Syndrome Association Autodromo Nazionale Monza Le Mans Bennetts British Superbike LDV Donington Park Rally Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai F4 British Championship Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Sachsenring Broc Parkes Trackrod Rally Rallying Damian Cudlin Jerez Ciceley Motorsport GT Team TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Ulster Grand Prix Catalunya Sol Rally Barbados Nurburgring circuit Spa-Francorchamps Malcolm Wilson Rally Alastair Seeley Somerset Stages Rally BSB Danny Buchan Shane Byrne Croft Circuit









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.