Bird Denied Manx Victory After Crashing Out

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Langwathby rally driver Paul Bird looked set to claim a fourth victory on the Manx National Rally this weekend after leading from the start but with three stages to go, he crashed out of the lead in spectacular fashion.

Driving the Mac Tools, Rapid Solicitors, Fuchs Titan, Hager, FBP and Amigos-backed, Pirelli-shod and Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared Ford Focus WRC07, Bird was on course to follow up his victories in 2009, 2010 and 2013 on The Island until disaster struck a couple of miles into SS12.

A scintillating performance on Friday night saw him and Welsh co-driver Aled Davies master the mixed conditions in the Manx lanes to set fastest time on all six stages and return to the Douglas overnight halt two minutes and 25 seconds ahead of the field.  

With another eight stages in the daylight of Saturday, the Cumbrian MotoGP and British Superbike team owner made a relatively cautious start dropping a handful of seconds on the opening two stages before reasserting his authority to hold a two and a half minute lead after SS10 on Marine Drive.

The second run through Parville (SS11) saw him lose 30 seconds so knowing he had to continue pushing in the final three tests, the 2005 National champion lost control at high speed on the infamous Druidale stage, rolling a number of times before coming to a halt, luckily without serious injury.

Paul Bird: "That was the biggest crash I've ever had and I'm a bit sore and think I've broken some ribs but Aled is fine. I'm bitterly disappointed for everyone in the team as it was my fault entirely. I knew if we had a go on that stage it would make the final two a lot easier as we'd been having a few niggling problems with the car and I'd dropped a load of time with stalls and spins but I ran wide on a fast corner and we ended up paying a big price for a small mistake. The good news is Lexi's crocodile emerged unscathed but it's having a couple of events off now! The car is looking a bit sorry for itself too but the cage is OK so the boys will get it sorted and I'm really looking forward to some better luck on Rally Barbados later this month."

Provisional Results (after SS14)

1 Jason Pritchard/Phil Clarke   Ford Focus WRC   1:54:50.2      
2 Oliver Mellors/Ian Windress  Proton Millington Satria  1:55:12.6
3 Stephen Simpson/Patrick Walsh  Subaru Impreza WRC  1:55:35.7
4 Arron Newby/Rob Fagg   Subaru Impreza   1:57:48.7
5 Daniel McKenna/Arthur Kierans  Ford Escort Mk 2   1:57:50.5
6 Steve Colley/Andrew Cowley  Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9  1:57:55.6
7 John Stone/Carl Williamson  Skoda Fabia WRC   1:58:25.7
8 Connor Corkill/Dale Furniss  Subaru Impreza   1:59:27.2
9 Quintin Milne/Martin Forrest  Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9  2:01:54.7
10 Nigel Cannell/Graham Fargher  Mitsubishi Evo 9   2:01:56.0

Image courtesy Dave Kneen/ Paul Bird and Aled Davies in action prior to retirement on the 2014 Manx National Rally

Post has no comments.
Post a Comment

Captcha Image

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Woodpecker Rally Hockenheim Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Hungaroring Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Ford Focus WRC08 Vision Track North West Stages Rally F4 British Championship Be Wiser Ducati Team Ulster Grand Prix BSB Champion Team Parker Racing Donington Rally Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Sol Rally Barbados 2014 MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Bennetts British Superbike Rallying Christmas Stages Rally Thruxton Michael Dunlop Be Wiser Ducati V4R Catalunya Somerset Stages Rally Paul Bird Josh Brookes Damian Cudlin James Ellison Brands Hatch Croft Circuit Snetterton Stages Rally Qatar Danny Buchan Andrew Irwin Sol Rally Barbados Alastair Seeley Scott Redding Jimmy Storrar Ford MSA Formula Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Rallynuts Stages Rally Red Bull Ring Isle of Man TT Yas Marina Circuit RST Superbike TT Macau GP Oulton Park Misano Manx National Rally VisionTrack VisionTrack Ducati Valencia BSB Showdown BSB MSVR Grampian Forest Rally Wyedean Forest Rally Spa-Francorchamps Arden Motorsport Aragon Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Wyedean PBMUK Silkolene John McGuinness Sepang Knockhill Stages Rally Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Frank Bird Silverstone Mugello Malcolm Wilson Rally Glenn Irwin Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R MotoGP Phillip Island Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Stuart Easton Oulton Park, TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally LDV Donington Park Rally Autodromo Nazionale Monza Carlisle Stages Rally Tech 1 Racing Team Michael Laverty Ian Hutchinson North West 200 BTRDA Rally Series Shane Byrne Brno Yonny Hernandez Jerez Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Red Bull Ring in Austria Nicky Grist Stages Rally Hospice at Home Assen Sachsenring Ducati Panigale R Trackrod Rally Knockhill Le Mans Cadwell Park Broc Parkes Down’s Syndrome Association Indianapolis Grand Prix Snetterton Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Ford Focus WRC07 Nurburgring circuit ​Tech 1 Racing Team Martin Jessopp Motegi Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Cambrian Rally Donington Christian Iddon









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.