Birdy Bounces Back To Win At Donington Park

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Following the disappointment of retiring whilst leading the Lee Holland Memorial Rally atAnglesey two weeks ago, Penrith-born racing driver Frank Bird made sure he got back to winning ways immediately by taking a comprehensive victory on today’s LDV Donington Park Rally.



The event formed the final round of the 2019/2020 Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship with MSVR whereby the 20-year-old Cumbrian, along with Hexham co-driver Jack Morton, made it five wins from the seven events they entered, but sadly for them, the scoring system meant they missed out on the title.


In the Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared Ford Focus WRC07, with backing from VisionTrack, Yuasa, Frank Bird Poultry, Hager, Mac Tools, Fuchs Silkolene and PBM, Frank was in control from the start andset fastest times on all seven stages to cross the finish ramp nearly three minutes ahead of his nearest rivals, former champions Ian Woodhouse and Paul Rowland.



The latest victory added to his winter wins at Knockhill, Brands Hatch, Cadwell Park and Snetterton in the series, as well as the non-championship Christmas Stages Rally at Croft meaning an amazing run of six wins in seven events.


Sadly, a planned outing on next weekend’s Legend Fires North West Stages Rally has been cancelled due to the event being postponed because of the current health crisis.


Frank Bird: “A great way to finish the season in style! It was a fantastic day overall dominating every stage and winning by nearly three minutes. The car felt mega all day so thanks to all theteam for today and the season, Jack has been great all year so thanks to him too, and of course all the sponsors for their support. But I couldn’t do this without the brilliant support of my dad so a massive thanks to him. It’s a shame not to win the championship but we did everything we could, hopefully it’s not long until the next event!”


Images courtesy of Steve McKenna, SMJ Photography

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Knockhill Stages Rally Donington Rally Misano Damian Cudlin Shane Byrne Macau GP Alastair Seeley Vision Track Ford Focus WRC08 Cadwell Park Red Bull Ring in Austria BSB Showdown Trackrod Rally Josh Brookes Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Croft Circuit Motegi Be Wiser Ducati V4R Wyedean Forest Rally Tech 1 Racing Team RST Superbike TT Cambrian Rally Qatar Ford Focus WRC07 Assen Indianapolis Grand Prix MotoGP PBMUK North West Stages Rally Arden Motorsport Hockenheim Ducati Panigale R Sachsenring Paul Bird Danny Buchan Michael Dunlop Christian Iddon Rallynuts Stages Rally Valencia Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Isle of Man TT Hungaroring Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series MSVR Jimmy Storrar Donington BTRDA Rally Series John McGuinness VisionTrack Ducati Catalunya Thruxton Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Brno Oulton Park, Jerez Autodromo Nazionale Monza Ian Hutchinson F4 British Championship Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Brands Hatch Snetterton Malcolm Wilson Rally Nurburgring circuit Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Bentley Continental GT3 Yonny Hernandez Woodpecker Rally BSB Le Mans Frank Bird BSB Champion Rallying Scott Redding Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Sol Rally Barbados Oulton Park LDV Donington Park Rally Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Christmas Stages Rally Team Parker Racing Broc Parkes Phillip Island Wyedean Bennetts British Superbike Michael Laverty Sepang Stuart Easton VisionTrack Snetterton Stages Rally Manx National Rally James Ellison Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Nicky Grist Stages Rally Somerset Stages Rally Glenn Irwin Yas Marina Circuit Silverstone Down’s Syndrome Association Knockhill Ford MSA Formula Spa-Francorchamps Be Wiser Ducati Team Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Grampian Forest Rally Mugello North West 200 British Superbike Championship Carlisle Stages Rally MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Aragon ​Tech 1 Racing Team Andrew Irwin Martin Jessopp Ulster Grand Prix Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Red Bull Ring Silkolene Hospice at Home









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.