Byrne And Irwin Remain At PBM Be Wiser Ducati For 2018

Friday, September 15, 2017

As the 2017 MCE British Superbike Championship reaches the crucial Showdown stage this weekend, Paul Bird Motorsport Ltd is delighted to announce that both Shane Byrne and Glenn Irwin will remain with the team to contest the 2018 series.




For five-times and defending champion Shakey, 2018 represents the second year of the two-year deal signed last year and will see the Sittingbourne-based Londoner remain with the Penrith-based team for an unprecedented sixth season whilst for Ulsterman Irwin, from Carrickfergus, he will stay with the team for a third year.


Both riders will continue aboard the factory-backed Ducati Panigale R machines with backing from Be Wiser Insurance as title sponsors, along with the same infrastructure around both sides of the garage.


So far this season, Byrne has won five races and leads the series going into the final three rounds whilst Irwin took his maiden victory at Silverstone last weekend. He also won the prestigious Superbike race at the International North West 200 prior to suffering injury mid-season.


Paul Bird, Team Owner: “We offered a two-year deal to Shakey and this is our commitment to honouring that as he continues to be a class act in BSB. Glenn has also shown what a talent he is and despite his injuries, he’s had a great season for us. We wanted to be the first team to commit to the series for 2018 and continue with the great team we have. We can now concentrate all our efforts on doing our best to win the 2017 British Superbike Championship."


Picture courtesy of Jon Jessop Photography

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Scott Redding Manx National Rally Brno Le Mans Snetterton Stages Rally Macau GP Tech 1 Racing Team Silverstone Michael Dunlop Team Parker Racing North West 200 Isle of Man TT Donington Ford MSA Formula Be Wiser Ducati V4R Stuart Easton Cambrian Rally North West Stages Rally TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Trackrod Rally Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Spa-Francorchamps Valencia Martin Jessopp MotoGP Andrew Irwin Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Frank Bird Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Motegi Danny Buchan John McGuinness Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Jimmy Storrar Ford Focus WRC08 Sachsenring Catalunya Arden Motorsport Christmas Stages Rally Knockhill Stages Rally Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship BTRDA Rally Series Damian Cudlin Knockhill Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Oulton Park, Bennetts British Superbike Shane Byrne Ford Focus WRC07 Glenn Irwin Ulster Grand Prix Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Ducati Panigale R MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Aragon Hungaroring Sepang Down’s Syndrome Association Josh Brookes Alastair Seeley Yas Marina Circuit Qatar Oulton Park Christian Iddon Rallying PBMUK ​Tech 1 Racing Team Be Wiser Ducati Team Ian Hutchinson VisionTrack Ducati Michael Laverty Broc Parkes James Ellison LDV Donington Park Rally Wyedean Assen Cadwell Park BSB Brands Hatch Grampian Forest Rally Nurburgring circuit Misano Carlisle Stages Rally Autodromo Nazionale Monza Woodpecker Rally Red Bull Ring in Austria Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Nicky Grist Stages Rally Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally VisionTrack Croft Circuit Malcolm Wilson Rally MSVR Indianapolis Grand Prix Paul Bird Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series RST Superbike TT Rallynuts Stages Rally Thruxton Jerez Hockenheim Wyedean Forest Rally Yonny Hernandez Snetterton Donington Rally Red Bull Ring Silkolene Phillip Island Sol Rally Barbados Vision Track BSB Showdown BSB Champion Hospice at Home F4 British Championship Mugello Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Somerset Stages Rally









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.