Fantastic Superbike TT Runner-Up Spot For Hutchinson

Sunday, June 07, 2015

Eight-times TT winner Ian Hutchinson very nearly added a ninth victory after a sensational performance netted him second place in today's six-lap RST Superbike TT.

Aboard the Penrith-based Paul Bird Motorsport Team's Kawasaki ZX-10R that he took to a superb podium placing at the recent International North West 200, 35-year-old 'Hutchy' from Bingley in West Yorkshire defied the changeable conditions to lead on the opening lap with a stunning average speed of 130.959mph.


Over the next two laps, Hutchinson gradually increased his lead over Kiwi Bruce Anstey to over five seconds but as the race progressed, Anstey upped the pace to eventually take his first big bike victory with Hutchy crossing the line just over ten seconds back in second place with a final lap of 131.076mph.


Third place went to James Hillier after Michael Dunlop crashed out at The Nook within sight of the finish when set for the final podium spot.


Ian Hutchinson: "I got away well and just tried to settle into it and was happy with my pace over the first couple of laps. The first pit stop went well but then halfway through the race it started raining on the west of the Island which unsettled me a bit. When you've had thirty operations on your leg and you're flat out on a superbike with slicks on in the wet, it makes you think twice! 

The positions started to change and I gave it all I could on the last couple of laps but Bruce did enough to win and I'm pleased for him. But for me to come back here and be so competitive, this is the first time I've raced at that kind of pace for five years now I couldn't expect too much, I can only get stronger from now on. The bike and team is capable of winning so there's a lot more to come.”

Hutchinson will be in action on the PBM Kawasaki in the RL360 Superstock TT over four laps starting at 10.45 tomorrow (Monday 8th June).


Image courtesy of Jon Jessop: Ian Hutchinson took a podium in today's RST Superbike TT race.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Ciceley Motorsport GT Team British Superbike Championship Broc Parkes Hockenheim Jimmy Storrar Arden Motorsport Be Wiser Ducati Team Wyedean Qatar Motegi Alastair Seeley Knockhill Stages Rally James Ellison PBMUK Ducati Panigale R Ford MSA Formula ​Tech 1 Racing Team North West Stages Rally RST Superbike TT Be Wiser Ducati V4R Autodromo Nazionale Monza Josh Brookes Ian Hutchinson Rallynuts Stages Rally Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Cambrian Rally Nurburgring circuit Sol Rally Barbados BSB Croft Circuit Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Brands Hatch Andrew Irwin Wyedean Forest Rally Aragon Team Parker Racing Misano F4 British Championship Frank Bird Hospice at Home Valencia Trackrod Rally Stuart Easton Red Bull Ring in Austria Danny Buchan Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Sol Rally Barbados 2014 VisionTrack Snetterton Sachsenring TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Scott Redding MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R BTRDA Rally Series Glenn Irwin Cadwell Park BSB Showdown Shane Byrne Spa-Francorchamps Ulster Grand Prix Woodpecker Rally Knockhill Rallying Damian Cudlin Manx National Rally Bennetts British Superbike Mugello Oulton Park Oulton Park, LDV Donington Park Rally Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Phillip Island Ford Focus WRC08 Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home VisionTrack Ducati Ford Focus WRC07 Assen Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Le Mans Christmas Stages Rally Isle of Man TT Nicky Grist Stages Rally Carlisle Stages Rally Michael Laverty Brno Bentley Continental GT3 Macau GP Snetterton Stages Rally MotoGP Catalunya Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Yonny Hernandez Martin Jessopp Sepang Vision Track North West 200 Malcolm Wilson Rally Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Red Bull Ring Donington Rally Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Jerez Yas Marina Circuit Thruxton Paul Bird Christian Iddon MSVR Down’s Syndrome Association Somerset Stages Rally BSB Champion Hungaroring Tech 1 Racing Team Silverstone Michael Dunlop John McGuinness Donington Grampian Forest Rally Silkolene Indianapolis Grand Prix









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.