First Blood To Birdy In Barbados

Monday, May 26, 2014

Cumbrian rally driver Paul Bird got his Sol Rally Barbados 2014 campaign off to a perfect start when he won this weekend's Scotiabank King of the Hill competition beating a top quality international field in the process.

After finishing second last year on the annual event which traditionally precedes the main two day event, which the MotoGP and British Superbike team boss has won for the past two years, Bird was determined to make it count after crashing out of the Manx National Rally earlier this month.

With local companies Rubis Petroleum and Cockspur Rum backing the former ANCRO National champion in the Ford Focus WRC08 he was sharing with regular Welsh co driver Aled Davies, the Langwathby, Penrith driver took the hillclimb win ahead of local Caribbean aces Roger Skeete and Jeffrey Panton with British driver Rob Swann in fourth and top Bajan driver Paul Bourne down in fifth.

"The King of the Hill is always a good event to kick things off with and we managed to pull it off today after finishing second last year. Thanks must go to the Dom Buckley IRS team for sorting the car as it was the best it has ever been and all bodes well for next weekend's SOL Rally Barbados. I'm suffering with my ribs as I'm in a lot of pain but despite a spin on the final run, we nailed it. I'm going to treat the boys to couple of glasses of Cockspur rum as thanks to them and all our sponsors for making this happen."

Scotiabank King of the Hill

1 Paul Bird/Aled Davies (Rubis/Cockspur Ford Focus WRC08) 1m 57.68s

2 Roger Skeete/Louis Venezia (Subaru Impreza WRC  1m 57.80s
3 Jeffrey Panton/Michael Fennell Jnr (Ford Focus WRC06)  1m 59.42s
4 Rob Swann/Darren Garrod (Subaru Impreza WRC S11)  1m 59.67s
5 Paul Bourne/Damien Bourne (Ford Focus WRC07)  2m 00.03s
6 John Powell/Nicholas Telfer Jnr (Ford Focus WRC08)  2m 02.25s
7 Roger Duckworth/Mark Broomfield (Subaru Impreza WRC S6) 2m 03.32s

Picture courtesy of Himal Reece:  Paul Bird/Aled Davies in action

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Cadwell Park Andrew Irwin Ducati Panigale R Christian Iddon PBMUK Arden Motorsport Danny Buchan Vision Track Oulton Park, John McGuinness Alastair Seeley Ulster Grand Prix Team Parker Racing Michael Dunlop Ian Hutchinson Indianapolis Grand Prix Ford Focus WRC08 TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Catalunya Scott Redding Valencia Ford Focus WRC07 Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Macau GP Wyedean North West 200 Nicky Grist Stages Rally Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Michael Laverty Glenn Irwin Down’s Syndrome Association Snetterton Stages Rally Snetterton LDV Donington Park Rally Shane Byrne Nurburgring circuit Rallynuts Stages Rally Broc Parkes MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Sachsenring Silkolene VisionTrack Tech 1 Racing Team Knockhill Stages Rally Damian Cudlin Hungaroring Silverstone Martin Jessopp BSB Champion Jimmy Storrar Motegi Hospice at Home Bennetts British Superbike Qatar Aragon Josh Brookes Jerez Hockenheim F4 British Championship Sepang VisionTrack Ducati Yonny Hernandez Cambrian Rally Ford MSA Formula Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Assen MotoGP BSB Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Grampian Forest Rally RST Superbike TT Phillip Island Brno Carlisle Stages Rally Be Wiser Ducati Team Frank Bird BSB Showdown Red Bull Ring Croft Circuit Woodpecker Rally Brands Hatch Manx National Rally Thruxton James Ellison Christmas Stages Rally Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Malcolm Wilson Rally Spa-Francorchamps Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Trackrod Rally Isle of Man TT BTRDA Rally Series Sol Rally Barbados MSVR Donington Rally Rallying North West Stages Rally Mugello Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Yas Marina Circuit Oulton Park Red Bull Ring in Austria Wyedean Forest Rally Misano Stuart Easton Le Mans Paul Bird Autodromo Nazionale Monza Be Wiser Ducati V4R Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Donington Somerset Stages Rally ​Tech 1 Racing Team Knockhill









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.