Four On The Bounce For Bird

Sunday, February 02, 2020

Penrith-born racing driver Frank Bird continued his meteoric rise when he claimed a superbvictory on today’s TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally at Cadwell Park and in doing so made it an unprecedented four wins in a row.



The event formed the fifth round of the 2019/2020 Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship with MSVR and after claiming a comprehensive victory by over a minute, the 20-year-old Cumbrian, along with Hexham co-driver Jack Morton, catapulted themselves to the head of the standings.


The pair finished second in the corresponding event last year in Frank’s third ever event back in April but such has been his prowess since, today’s victory adds to those on the Knockhill Stages and Christmas Stages events in December and also last month’s MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages.


In the Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared Ford Focus WRC07, with backing from VisionTrack, Yuasa, Frank Bird Poultry, Hager, Mac Tools, Fuchs Silkolene and PBM, conditions at the Lincolnshire track were a bit tricky early on meaning Frank had to settle for second best on the opening two stages but once he hit the front on SS3, he wasn’t bettered.


Gradually increasing his lead by winning the remaining seven stages, the margin of victory at the finish was a comprehensive 76 seconds meaning he holds the advantage in the title race going into the next round at Snetterton in just two weeks’ time.


Frank Bird: “Overall, we have had a really good day at Cadwell Park, and I’m delighted to getanother win. This morning was a bit tricky with wet conditions and a stall on a hairpin cost us some time early on but once we got over that, it went great. We had a mega afternoon just chipping away to win by over a minute. The car was again brilliant so as ever, thanks to Jack for another great job on the maps, the lads for keeping the car sweet and of course my dad and all our sponsors. That’s four wins in a row now so I’m really looking forward to continuing the run at the next round.”


Picture courtesy of Kevin Money

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


BSB Champion Ulster Grand Prix Brno Silverstone LDV Donington Park Rally Hockenheim Somerset Stages Rally Autodromo Nazionale Monza MSVR Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Alastair Seeley Stuart Easton Qatar PBMUK Isle of Man TT Nicky Grist Stages Rally Macau GP BSB Showdown Damian Cudlin Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Cadwell Park Vision Track Red Bull Ring Jimmy Storrar BTRDA Rally Series Sol Rally Barbados Ford Focus WRC08 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Trackrod Rally Carlisle Stages Rally VisionTrack Ducati Manx National Rally Woodpecker Rally Ian Hutchinson Sepang Sachsenring Yas Marina Circuit Michael Laverty Knockhill Stages Rally Hungaroring Shane Byrne Michael Dunlop Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Bennetts British Superbike Yonny Hernandez North West 200 North West Stages Rally Glenn Irwin Andrew Irwin Wyedean Spa-Francorchamps VisionTrack Malcolm Wilson Rally Wyedean Forest Rally Croft Circuit MotoGP Aragon Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Oulton Park Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Valencia Snetterton Nurburgring circuit British Superbike Championship Assen Indianapolis Grand Prix Cambrian Rally Frank Bird John McGuinness Scott Redding Team Parker Racing Tech 1 Racing Team MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Josh Brookes Knockhill Donington Motegi Be Wiser Ducati Team RST Superbike TT Rallying Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Silkolene Ford Focus WRC07 James Ellison Paul Bird Hospice at Home Misano Arden Motorsport Martin Jessopp Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Bentley Continental GT3 BSB ​Tech 1 Racing Team Ducati Panigale R Be Wiser Ducati V4R Down’s Syndrome Association Phillip Island Grampian Forest Rally Mugello Broc Parkes F4 British Championship Thruxton Jerez Le Mans Christmas Stages Rally Catalunya Danny Buchan Christian Iddon Donington Rally Oulton Park, Rallynuts Stages Rally Snetterton Stages Rally Red Bull Ring in Austria Brands Hatch Ford MSA Formula









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.