Manx Heartbreak For Bird Again

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Langwathby rally driver Paul Bird looked set to claim a fourth victory on the IMGold Manx National Rally this weekend after leading from the start but for a second year in succession, his hopes were dashed just three stages from home.

Driving the Mac Tools, Hager, Frank Bird Poultry-backed, Pirelli-shod and Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared Ford Focus WRC07, Bird along with Welsh co driver Aled Davies was on course to follow up his victories in 2009, 2010 and 2013 and in doing so, avenge the big crash he suffered when well in command last year.


However, with a lead of over a minute and a half, the British Superbike Championship team boss suffered a puncture at the very start of the 16.21-mile Cringle stage and by the time they could safely stop and assess the situation, the time loss in changing the offending wheel meant his hopes of victory were dashed so he retired on the spot.


A scintillating performance in dreadful conditions on Friday night saw the 2014 BTRDA Rally Series runner-up master the sodden Manx lanes to set fastest time on five of the six stages and return to the Douglas overnight halt 21 seconds ahead of the field.


With another eight stages in the daylight of Saturday, the Cumbrian continued his relentless pace by setting fastest time on three of the day's opening four stages before disaster struck.


Paul Bird: "It's a bitter pill to have to swallow again over here on the Island but as they say, that's rallying. I knew straight away we'd punctured and that was it, game over, so there was no point in risking the car further, I wanted to save the mileage as it's going to Barbados this week. I felt I was driving well and we bossed the conditions which were awful on Friday night. Our luck will change at some point but it's tough to take, especially with such a commanding lead."

Image: Paul Bird and Aled Davies in action prior to retirement on the 2015 IMGold Manx National Rally (image courtesy James Ward/Chicane Media)

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Wyedean Forest Rally RST Superbike TT Phillip Island Donington MotoGP Be Wiser Ducati V4R BSB Arden Motorsport Carlisle Stages Rally Spa-Francorchamps BSB Champion Ford MSA Formula Le Mans Broc Parkes Assen Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Glenn Irwin Hungaroring Yas Marina Circuit Hockenheim Trackrod Rally Rallynuts Stages Rally Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Rallying Snetterton Thruxton Nurburgring circuit Indianapolis Grand Prix Josh Brookes Scott Redding Ford Focus WRC08 Paul Bird ​Tech 1 Racing Team Valencia Hospice at Home Jerez Manx National Rally Oulton Park Frank Bird PBMUK Somerset Stages Rally Down’s Syndrome Association James Ellison Be Wiser Ducati Team Sepang Andrew Irwin Red Bull Ring in Austria Brno Brands Hatch Tech 1 Racing Team Ulster Grand Prix Sol Rally Barbados North West Stages Rally Autodromo Nazionale Monza Stuart Easton Qatar Martin Jessopp Nicky Grist Stages Rally Michael Laverty Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Ford Focus WRC07 Wyedean Ian Hutchinson Oulton Park, Danny Buchan Croft Circuit Woodpecker Rally Motegi Cambrian Rally Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Aragon Donington Rally Ducati Panigale R Isle of Man TT Misano Bennetts British Superbike Jimmy Storrar Yonny Hernandez North West 200 John McGuinness Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Alastair Seeley Macau GP Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Catalunya Silverstone BTRDA Rally Series F4 British Championship BSB Showdown Cadwell Park Damian Cudlin Red Bull Ring Malcolm Wilson Rally Christian Iddon Mugello Sachsenring Grampian Forest Rally Shane Byrne Silkolene Knockhill









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2019 pbmuk Limited.