PBM Announces Four Rider Team For 2014

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Paul Bird Motorsport is pleased to announce that they will be contesting the MotoGP World Championship and the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship with a two rider team in each series in 2014.

Ulsterman Michael Laverty will continue for a second year in MotoGP where he will be joined by Australian Broc Parkes on board the team's PBM Aprilias. In BSB, triple champion Shane 'Shakey' Byrne will be joined by reigning British Supersport champion Stuart Easton on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ZX-10Rs.

Laverty ended his debut season in the MotoGP World Championship in 25th overall with a best result of 13th at Jerez. Parkes, meanwhile, is a former runner-up in the World Supersport Championship and raced a Kawasaki for the PBM team in World Superbikes in 2009.

In the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Byrne was narrowly beaten to the title in the very last race of the season but became the most successful rider in BSB history taking his tally to 51 wins. Returning to the team he last raced with in 2012, Scotsman Stuart Easton is hoping to add to his success for the Cumbrian-based team.

All four bikes are expected to run in the traditional British Racing Green livery and the team will be officially unveiled at the London Motorcycle Show from February 14/16th.

Michael Laverty:  "We learned so much in year one that I'm delighted Paul has continued his involvement with MotoGP and that he's given me the opportunity to continue with the project. Everyone has told me that year two is much easier so the aim is to put into place what we have learned and to raise our game accordingly. The class is going to be a lot tougher with the new production bikes but our aim is to consistently score points."

Broc Parkes:  "Firstly, I'd like to say a massive thanks to Paul Bird for the opportunity to work with his team once again; I'm really looking forward to it. This is the premier class and it's every rider's dream to race in MotoGP. I know this is going to be a tough season but I'm certainly up for the challenge, I can't wait to get started."

Shane Byrne:  "Paul and I agreed a deal ages back and I'm made up I'll be racing for the PBM Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team once again in 2014. We came so close to defending our title that it makes us even more determined to win it back this season and I know I've got the most competitive package to do that. We had a successful test in Spain earlier this week so I'm feeling confident already."

Stuart Easton:  "I'm pleased to be back in British Superbikes and especially riding for PBM on the Kawasaki. It was brilliant to win the British Supersport title last year as it got me fit and back to form so now I feel I'm ready to step up to BSB again which is where I want to be. My first run out on the bike in Spain was very positive and I was on the pace so can't wait for another outing in preparation for the season ahead."

Paul Bird, Team Owner:  "It's taken a little while but I've got the four riders I wanted in the two championships I wanted to race in. We've done a lot of spade work in MotoGP over the past two seasons so the plan is to build on that and work with our partners and Michael and Broc are very capable of delivering. As for BSB, it really hurt us losing our crown to Honda so Shakey's back to try and reclaim it and Stuart needed a year away from BSB and is now back in the big time with us. We have some wonderful and loyal sponsors with Personal Injury and Clinical Negligence specialists Rapid Solicitors and Fuchs Silkolene on board again and also, we'd like to welcome MAC Tools too. There's still some business to sort which will be of very big interest when we announce it so watch this space!"

The opening round of the MotoGP World Championship takes place at Qatar on 23rd March with round one of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship taking place at Brands Hatch on 21st April.

Post has no comments.
Post a Comment

Captcha Image

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


​Tech 1 Racing Team Qatar Mugello LDV Donington Park Rally Martin Jessopp Rallynuts Stages Rally Somerset Stages Rally Danny Buchan Croft Circuit Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Hockenheim Yonny Hernandez Snetterton Trackrod Rally Valencia Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Indianapolis Grand Prix Ford Focus WRC07 Motegi Nurburgring circuit MSVR MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Tech 1 Racing Team Silkolene Josh Brookes Rallying Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Snetterton Stages Rally Vision Track Red Bull Ring Glenn Irwin Autodromo Nazionale Monza Broc Parkes Assen Thruxton Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home MotoGP BSB Showdown Spa-Francorchamps Knockhill VisionTrack Ducati Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Ford Focus WRC08 Brands Hatch Ulster Grand Prix Stuart Easton Be Wiser Ducati V4R Damian Cudlin Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Bennetts British Superbike Malcolm Wilson Rally Christmas Stages Rally Ford MSA Formula Hospice at Home Wyedean RST Superbike TT Frank Bird Ian Hutchinson Sol Rally Barbados Oulton Park, Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Wyedean Forest Rally Grampian Forest Rally Nicky Grist Stages Rally Donington Rally Cambrian Rally Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Macau GP James Ellison Carlisle Stages Rally TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Andrew Irwin Michael Dunlop BSB Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Red Bull Ring in Austria Oulton Park Jerez John McGuinness Paul Bird Sepang F4 British Championship BTRDA Rally Series Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup VisionTrack Brno Manx National Rally Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Shane Byrne Down’s Syndrome Association Woodpecker Rally Misano Yas Marina Circuit Isle of Man TT Donington PBMUK Jimmy Storrar Scott Redding North West Stages Rally Ducati Panigale R Alastair Seeley Sachsenring Team Parker Racing Aragon Christian Iddon BSB Champion Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Arden Motorsport North West 200 Phillip Island Silverstone Le Mans Michael Laverty Be Wiser Ducati Team Catalunya Knockhill Stages Rally Cadwell Park Hungaroring









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.