Podium For Bird In Wales

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Penrith rally driver Paul Bird continued his great start to the 2018 season by claiming a podiumfinish in the second round of the Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series following the Rallynuts Stages Rally based at the Royal Welsh Showground in Builth Wells today.



Along with Hexham co-driver Jack Morton in the Dom Buckley Motorsport/IRS-prepared Ford Focus WRC08, with backing from Frank Bird Poultry, Be Wiser Insurance, Hager, Fuchs Titan Race and Loco Energy Drink, Bird, from Langwathby village, took a third place finish to add to his maximum points haul in the opening round to lead the series.


Using the forests of central Wales, the British Superbike team boss was fourth fastest on the opening stage before a series of top three times edged him into third overall after four stages. The former National champion dropped some time in SS5 but clawed his way back into contention and by the finish, claimed the final podium spot after 45 miles on the fast Welsh stages.


Paul Bird: “It was a case of doing a good job today and that’s what we did. We came for a top three and that’s exactly what we got. I made a couple of mistakes which cost us a few seconds, but I’m pleased with how it’s all gone. I’m not ecstatic but that’s solid points in the opening two rounds and to be leading the championship at this stage is great. Jack did a brilliant job on the notes and we are gelling a lot more and as ever; the car was fantastic.”



1. Matt Edwards/Darren Garrod – Ford Fiesta – 0:42:31

2. Luke Francis/John H Roberts – Ford Fiesta WRC – 0:43:11

3. Paul Bird/Jack Morton – Ford Focus 08 WRC – 0:43:41

4. Hugh Hunter/Rob Fagg – Ford Fiesta WRC – 0:43:48

5. Stephen Petch/Michael Wilkinson – Ford Fiesta WRC – 0:43:49

6. Julian Reynolds/Patrick Walsh – Ford Fiesta R5 – 0:43:53


Image courtesy of James Ward/Chicane Media


Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Hockenheim Stuart Easton GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Ulster Grand Prix Spa-Francorchamps Le Mans VisionTrack Ducati Down’s Syndrome Association Broc Parkes Motegi Michael Laverty Tech 1 Racing Team Wyedean Forest Rally Macau GP Knockhill Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Yas Marina Circuit Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home M-Sport Stages Rally Snetterton Stages Rally Wyedean Damian Cudlin Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Donington Andrew Irwin Sachsenring VisionTrack TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Brno Donington Rally Ducati Panigale R Arden Motorsport BSB Vision Track North West 200 Glenn Irwin F4 British Championship Be Wiser Ducati V4R British Superbike Championship Manx National Rally Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Brands Hatch Isle of Man TT Thruxton Grampian Forest Rally MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages BSB Showdown Assen Nurburgring circuit Cadwell Park Ford MSA Formula Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Mugello PBMUK Misano Frank Bird Croft Circuit Knockhill Stages Rally Red Bull Ring Catalunya Woodpecker Rally Alastair Seeley Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Autodromo Nazionale Monza LDV Donington Park Rally BSB Champion Christian Iddon Team Parker Racing Silverstone Trackrod Rally BTRDA Rally Series MSVR Shane Byrne Be Wiser Ducati Team Rallynuts Stages Rally Cambrian Rally Ian Hutchinson Paul Bird Sepang Sol Rally Barbados Ford Focus WRC08 Hospice at Home Indianapolis Grand Prix ​Tech 1 Racing Team Valencia Christmas Stages Rally Oulton Park, Ford Focus WRC07 Silkolene Jimmy Storrar Jerez Scott Redding Nicky Grist Stages Rally Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Martin Jessopp Hungaroring Phillip Island Somerset Stages Rally Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Danny Buchan Yonny Hernandez Aragon Josh Brookes Malcolm Wilson Rally Red Bull Ring in Austria Rallying North West Stages Rally John McGuinness Bentley Continental GT3 James Ellison Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Michael Dunlop Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Qatar RST Superbike TT Snetterton Bennetts British Superbike Oulton Park MotoGP Carlisle Stages Rally









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.