Runner Up Spot For Bird On Malcolm Wilson Rally

Saturday, March 07, 2015


Cumbrian rally driver Paul Bird's hopes of a record-breaking fifth win on his local Malcolm Wilson Rally today were denied when well in command of the second round of the 2015 REIS-RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Championship based in the Lake District.

Having equalled fellow Cumbrian Bill Dobie's long standing record of four outright victories on the event following his win last year, Bird from Langwathby, along with Welsh co driver Aled Davies, were hoping to add to their winning start to the season in the Frank Bird Poultry, Fuchs Titan Race, Hager and Mac Tools-backed Ford Focus WRC07.


Despite the wet and slippery conditions, Bird flew through the opening four stages setting fastest time on them all to arrive back at the Penrith service area with a 15 second lead in the Dom Buckley IRS-prepared car.


However, that lead was negated in the first of the notorious Grizedale stages, which has been his bogey forest in recent years, and the problem was compounded in the second test in the forest high above Windermere when he dropped a further 30 seconds to lose the lead for the first time.


Following second service, the 2005 ANCRO National Champion responded with a fastest time in the short Thornsgill 2 stage but any hopes of clinching another win to add to his 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2014 successes were scuppered when he dropped further time on the final test in Greystoke to arrive at the finish as runner-up for a fifth time on the Cockermouth-based event.


But it wasn't all disappointment for the British Superbike team boss as the result saw him score maximum championship points to add to those scored on last month's Weir Engineering Wyedean Forest Rally to ensure a comprehensive lead in the title race going into the Somerset Stages Rally in six weeks' time.


Paul Bird: "I can honestly say that's the best I've ever driven and to come out in second place is a little disappointing if I'm being honest as we made no mistakes at all. Grizedale has never been kind to me but I had the best run ever through it today and we still lost a lot of time which leaves me thinking that maybe the way I drive in that forest isn't the right way perhaps? The gap back to the other main BTRDA competitors was significant and I'm still leading the championship so all is not lost and when you consider I have now finished in the top two on this rally nine times, it's not a bad record."

Full results of the Malcolm Wilson Rally are available by following the event link at and at



1 Euan Thorburn/Richard Cooke - Ford Focus WRC - 45:55
2 Paul Bird/Aled Davies - Ford Focus 07 WRC - 46:41

3 David Weston/Kirsty Riddick - Subaru Impreza WRC - 48:22
4 Stephen Petch/Ian Windress - Ford Fiesta R5+ - 48:26
5 Andrew Gallacher/Jane Nicol - Ford Fiesta - 49:07
6 Wayne Sisson/Neil Shanks - Mitsubishi Evo 10 - 49:24
7 Russ Thompson/Andy Murphy - Mitsubishi Evo 9 - 49:33
8 Luke Francis/John H Roberts - Mitsubishi Evo 9 - 49:35
9 Thomas Naughton/Andi Mort - Mitsubishi Evo 9 - 49:43
10 Matthew Robinson/Kim Baker - Ford Escort MkII - 50:45


Image courtesy of James Ward / Paul Bird and Aled Davies on their way to second place in today's Malcolm Wilson Rally.


Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Manx National Rally M-Sport Stages Rally Brands Hatch Ian Hutchinson Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Tech 1 Racing Team Knockhill Stages Rally Bennetts British Superbike Scott Redding MotoGP ​Tech 1 Racing Team Broc Parkes Rallying Thruxton Motegi Valencia Cadwell Park Phillip Island Ford Focus WRC08 Danny Buchan BSB Champion Nicky Grist Stages Rally John McGuinness VisionTrack Qatar Jerez Bentley Continental GT3 Paul Bird Red Bull Ring in Austria Yas Marina Circuit Trackrod Rally Arden Motorsport Alastair Seeley Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Ford MSA Formula Ford Focus WRC07 Sachsenring Frank Bird Ducati Panigale R Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Silkolene Sol Rally Barbados Sol Rally Barbados 2014 BSB VisionTrack Ducati GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Catalunya Christmas Stages Rally Glenn Irwin North West Stages Rally Snetterton MSVR Isle of Man TT Croft Circuit Jimmy Storrar Michael Laverty Hockenheim Vision Track Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Autodromo Nazionale Monza Red Bull Ring MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Knockhill British Superbike Championship James Ellison Snetterton Stages Rally Wyedean North West 200 Spa-Francorchamps BSB Showdown Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Rallynuts Stages Rally Be Wiser Ducati Team Sepang Indianapolis Grand Prix PBMUK Assen Shane Byrne Hospice at Home TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Andrew Irwin Martin Jessopp Le Mans Macau GP Woodpecker Rally Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Donington Team Parker Racing Oulton Park, Silverstone Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Brno Damian Cudlin LDV Donington Park Rally Yonny Hernandez Somerset Stages Rally Wyedean Forest Rally Be Wiser Ducati V4R Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Grampian Forest Rally Carlisle Stages Rally BTRDA Rally Series Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Nurburgring circuit Mugello Ulster Grand Prix Cambrian Rally RST Superbike TT Aragon Hungaroring Stuart Easton Misano F4 British Championship Donington Rally Christian Iddon Oulton Park Malcolm Wilson Rally Michael Dunlop Josh Brookes Down’s Syndrome Association Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.