Top Six For Hutchy At Macau Grand Prix

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Paul Bird Motorsport riders Ian Hutchinson and Jimmy Storrar put in solid performances at this morning's Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix to come home in sixth and 12th place respectively.


Former winner Hutchinson was hoping to add to his 2013 success and after qualifying in fourth place, the 11 times TT winner from Bingley in Yorkshire was confident of success aboard the Kawasaki ZX-10R. Meanwhile, Scotsman Storrar, from Perth, was making his debut for the Penrith-based team and qualified in a creditable 11th place.


With humidity high around the 6.12km Circuito Da Guia, Hutchinson got a good start and ran with the leaders for the opening lap before becoming embroiled in a scrap for third place with former winners Michael Rutter and John McGuinness as well as ex PBM team-mate Stuart Easton and Gary Johnson.


As the BMWs of eventual winner Peter Hickman and runner-up Martin Jessopp pulled away at the front, the battle for the final podium place intensified, but Hutchy, who won the Superstock TT earlier this year for Paul Bird's team, couldn't hang on and had to settle for sixth place on the team's Kawasaki swan song.


Storrar rode a solid race throughout on the cusp of the top ten and despite limited riding this year, battled to a determined 12th place at the end of the 12 lap race around the closed roads of the former Portuguese colony on the southern coast of the People's Republic of China near Hong Kong




Paul Bird, Team Owner: "After winning last year, we were hoping for a repeat performance but it wasn't to be. I'm pleased that both riders brought the bikes home safely and whilst the results might not have been what we wanted, we will still have a little celebration I'm sure. That race brings to the end our association with Kawasaki which we have had since 2009 so we now look forward to working with Ducati and our valued sponsors from next season onwards and to try to win back the MCE British Superbike Championship as our main priority.”

Images courtesy of GCS: Ian Hutchinson (9) and Jimmy Storrar (15) in action.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Nurburgring circuit Knockhill Phillip Island Ulster Grand Prix Oulton Park Qatar BSB Showdown Shane Byrne Ford Focus WRC08 Ford MSA Formula Donington Rally Bentley Continental GT3 Aragon RST Superbike TT VisionTrack Ducati Thruxton Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Mugello PBMUK Alastair Seeley MSVR Scott Redding Cadwell Park Christian Iddon Indianapolis Grand Prix Sachsenring Grampian Forest Rally Jerez Jimmy Storrar F4 British Championship Frank Bird British Superbike Championship John McGuinness Hungaroring Wyedean Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Christmas Stages Rally Arden Motorsport James Ellison Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R M-Sport Stages Rally Oulton Park, VisionTrack Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Manx National Rally Motegi Glenn Irwin Red Bull Ring in Austria North West Stages Rally Valencia Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Misano Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Tech 1 Racing Team BSB Champion Sepang Yas Marina Circuit Trackrod Rally Be Wiser Ducati Team Silkolene Team Parker Racing Brands Hatch Ducati Panigale R Bennetts British Superbike Snetterton Woodpecker Rally BSB Wyedean Forest Rally Le Mans MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages Vision Track Autodromo Nazionale Monza Damian Cudlin Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Josh Brookes Paul Bird Rallying Hospice at Home Rallynuts Stages Rally Snetterton Stages Rally Hockenheim Isle of Man TT Danny Buchan Sol Rally Barbados Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally BTRDA Rally Series Down’s Syndrome Association Nicky Grist Stages Rally Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Catalunya Carlisle Stages Rally North West 200 Be Wiser Ducati V4R Somerset Stages Rally Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Donington Andrew Irwin ​Tech 1 Racing Team Brno MotoGP LDV Donington Park Rally Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Ford Focus WRC07 Croft Circuit Ian Hutchinson Yonny Hernandez Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Knockhill Stages Rally Cambrian Rally Red Bull Ring Assen TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Michael Laverty Michael Dunlop Macau GP Stuart Easton Spa-Francorchamps Silverstone Malcolm Wilson Rally Broc Parkes Martin Jessopp









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2020 pbmuk Limited.