After a number of years in the World Superbike and MotoGP Championships, the team returned to the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship full time in 2014. The MSVR-organised series is the most prestigious domestic series in the world which attracts some of the best teams, bikes and riders in the sport.


The 12-round, 26 race championship boasts huge television audiences, record crowds and for 2016, once again visits the world-famous Assen circuit in The Netherlands to bolster its international appeal, as well as the best circuits in the UK.


The most successful rider in the series’ history, Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne, will look to add to his record-breaking fourth title he won for the team in 2014 this year he’ll be partnered by promising Ulster rider Glenn Irwin, Irwin is a triple Irish champion and former British Supersport Cup champion and finished in fourth place in the 2015 British Supersport title race.


Both Byrne and Irwin will race under the Be Wiser Insurance banner following the recent association between the leading insurance brand and Paul Bird’s team. The deal sees a multi-year association with the nine-times British and National champions who have also sampled victories at World Superbike and MotoGP level.


The machinery that the team will use is the fully factory-supported Ducati Panigale R which will see a return to the marque whereby Steve Hislop and Shane Byrne both claimed British Superbike Championships for the Italian company under the MonsterMob Ducati branding in the early 2000s.


The team have a heavy winter testing scheduled in preparation for the 2016 MCE Insurance British Championship season which gets underway at Silverstone on April 10th 2016.

BSB Race Calendar

2016 MCE Insurance BSB Championship

Round 1:

Round 2:

Round 3:

Round 4:

Round 5:

Round 6:

Round 7:

Round 8:

Round 9:

Round 10:

Round 11:

Round 12:

April 8/9/10

April 30/May 1/2

May 20/21/22

June 24/25/26

July 8/9/10

July 22/23/24

August 5/6/7

August 27/28/29

September 9/10/11

September 16/17/18

Sept 30/Oct 1/2

October 14/15/16

Silverstone GP

Oulton Park International *

Brands Hatch Indy


Snetterton 300


Brands Hatch GP

Cadwell Park *

Oulton Park (triple header)

Donington Park GP


Brands Hatch GP (triple header)

* denotes Bank Holiday


© 2015



Listen to the latest audio clips from the PBM Riders

Shakey talks Brands at the start of August.

John Mowatt and Sam Neate

Glenn chats prior to BSB at Cadwell Park

Shakey chats prior to BSB at Cadwell Park

Glenn talks Brands at the start of August.

Paul Bird on PBM’s recent performances


Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.

Captcha Image






CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2017 pbmuk Limited.