Bird Wins Wyedean In Style

Saturday, February 14, 2015


Cumbrian rally driver Paul Bird got his 2015 BTRDA Rally Championship campaign underway in the best possible fashion by taking a comprehensive victory in the Forest of Dean on today's Weir Engineering Wyedean Forest Rally.

Fresh from last weekend's victory on the Legend Fires North West Stages Rally, the 2005 ANCRO National Champion was back in action in the woods for the first time in three months and competing for only the third time on the Chepstow based event whereby the previous two visits heralded runner-up spot on both occasions.


Along with Welsh co driver Aled Davies in the Frank Bird Poultry, Fuchs Titan Race, Hager and Mac Tools-backed Ford Focus WRC07, the pair were on the pace from the off with Paul keen to make up for missing out on the 2014 title by the narrowest of margins.


Despite the quality entry, the British Superbike team boss upped his pace through the opening loop to arrive at half distance with a 21 second lead. Bird continued his relentless charge without any problems and after five stage wins and three second fastest times, arrived at the finish 34 seconds to the good over Scottish rivals David Weston and Kirsty Riddick in their Subaru WRC.


As well as taking maximum points in the 2015 BTRDA Series opener, it was Bird's third successive rally victory to add to the Legend Fires North West Stages and Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally. It also meant in the last seven rallies he has contested, he has won five and finished on the podium on the other two occasions.


It also means that the driver from Langwathby goes into his local event next month brimful of confidence as he looks to add another good points haul when he contests the Malcolm Wilson Rally on March 7th. Having won the event for a record-equalling fourth time last year, Bird will be looking to create history by becoming the first man in history to win the Cockermouth-based event five times in his native Lake District.


Paul Bird: "That's the perfect way to get our championship bid underway and I'm especially pleased with how I drove today. The stages are always fast and tricky but I felt sharp and knew it was a case of managing the lead. Everything was faultless today and there was such a strong entry, I knew it wasn't going to be easy but it's good to keep the winning run going and after finishing second twice on this event, it's great to get the win. The crowds were phenomenal and it was like driving on a world championship event but maximum points were what we came for and I'm hoping we can repeat the result on the Malcolm Wilson Rally in three weeks time.”


Full results of the Weir Engineering Wyedean Forest Rally are available by following the event link at and details of the forthcoming Malcolm Wilson Rally can be found at

Provisional Results

1 Paul Bird/Aled Davies - Ford Focus 07 WRC - 42m 25s

2 David Weston/Kirsty Riddick - Subaru Impreza WRC - +34s
3 Hugh Hunter/Andy Marchbank - Subaru Impreza S11 - +43
4 Charles Payne/Carl Williamson - Ford Escort Fiesta ST - +1:06
5 Nik Elsmore/Matt Edwards - Mitsubishi EVO - +1:36
6 Damian Cole/Jack Morton - Ford Focus WRC - +1:49
7 Stephen Petch/Ian Windress - Ford Fiesta R5+ - +2:01
8 Peter Taylor/Andrew Roughead - Ford Fiesta S2400 - +2:12
9 Bob Ceen/Andy Bull - Subaru Impreza WRC - +2:29
10 Russ Thompson/Andy Murphy - Mitsubishi EVO 9 N4 - +2:36


Image courtesy of James Ward / Paul Bird and Aled Davies on their way to victory in today's Weir Engineering Wyedean Forest Rally.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Hungaroring Ulster Grand Prix BTRDA Rally Series Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Donington Bentley Continental GT3 Autodromo Nazionale Monza Frank Bird Ford Focus WRC08 Ford MSA Formula North West Stages Rally ​Tech 1 Racing Team Nurburgring circuit Team WRT Isle of Man TT Michael Laverty Spa-Francorchamps PBMUK Scott Redding Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Phillip Island M-Sport Stages Rally Broc Parkes Damian Cudlin MSVR Rallying Le Mans Bennetts British Superbike Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Misano Knockhill Stages Rally Brands Hatch Somerset Stages Rally Sachsenring Wyedean Ducati Panigale R Silkolene Oulton Park TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Snetterton Shane Byrne Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Red Bull Ring Thruxton LDV Donington Park Rally Arden Motorsport Valencia BSB Champion MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages North West 200 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Red Bull Ring in Austria Tech 1 Racing Team Oulton Park, Snetterton Stages Rally Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Paul Ricard 1000km Jimmy Storrar VisionTrack Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Sepang Martin Jessopp Alastair Seeley Manx National Rally Wyedean Forest Rally John McGuinness Rallynuts Stages Rally Cambrian Rally Malcolm Wilson Rally Yas Marina Circuit Knockhill Motegi Mugello BSB Showdown Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Team Parker Racing Catalunya Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Michael Dunlop GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Paul Bird Glenn Irwin Hankook Dubai 24 Hourrace Vision Track BSB Christmas Stages Rally Grampian Forest Rally Andrew Irwin Yonny Hernandez Motorsport UK British Rally Championship Ian Hutchinson Danny Buchan Josh Brookes F4 British Championship Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Macau GP Be Wiser Ducati V4R Woodpecker Rally Nicky Grist Stages Rally British Superbike Championship Croft Circuit Assen Trackrod Rally Sol Rally Barbados Be Wiser Ducati Team Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Silverstone RST Superbike TT James Ellison Qatar Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Cadwell Park MotoGP Carlisle Stages Rally Hockenheim Brno Christian Iddon Stuart Easton Down’s Syndrome Association Ford Focus WRC07 Donington Rally Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Indianapolis Grand Prix Jerez Hospice at Home Aragon VisionTrack Ducati









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2021 pbmuk Limited.