Frank Bird and Team WRT Kick Off GTWCE Endurance Cup at Monza

Thursday, April 15, 2021


The 2021 season finally gets underway with the opening round of the GT World Challenge Europe taking place at Monza in Italy, with Cumbrian driver Frank Bird in action in what is widely referenced as the pinnacle of the GT3 racing scene.



While the most significant change is that the official name of the series has become the Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, the series is introducing a new and very innovative feature, the Fanatec Esports GT Pro Series, a one-hour virtual race to take place on Saturday evening, which will count towards the championship, in what is the first attempt to combine track with virtual racing.


This race will award 3-2-1 ‘real’ championship points in the Teams’ standings only (in each the Pro and Silver classes) to the first three classified teams. The series is expected to be even more competitive and well-attended this year with no less than 44 cars being entered in this weekend’s first round of the Endurance Cup, which as normal, traditionally takes place at the Autodromo di Monza in Italy.


Team WRT is entering three Audi R8 LMS in the series this year and will have in Kelvin van der Linde, Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts a Pro trio of the highest calibre. The two other cars will bid for honours in the Silver Cup with line-ups exuding youth and talent including Benjamin Goethe, Stuart Hall, James Pull, Valdemar Eriksen and Ryuichiro Tomita, who will team up with Penrith’s Frank Bird.


WRT is the defending team champion in the overall GTWCE, having also conquered in 2020 the Team and Driver crowns in the Sprint Cup. For the Fanatec Esports GT Pro Series race, van der Linde (Pro) and Tomita (Silver) will represent Team WRT at Monza.


Frank Bird: “I am really pleased to be joining Team WRT for the upcoming season which gets underway thisweekend at Monza. We have a great driver line-up, so hopefully we can start with a good result. Thanks to the team for the opportunity and I can’t wait to get cracking now.”


Team WRT entries (Audi R8 LMS)

#30 Benjamin Goethe (DE) – Stuart Hall (GB) – James Pull (GB) Silver

#31 Frank Bird (GB) – Valdemar Eriksen (DK) - Ryuichiro Tomita (JP) Silver

#32 Kelvin van der Linde (ZA) – Dries Vanthoor (BE) – Charles Weerts (BE) Pro


For further info, please contact Vincent Vosse or

Daria Marina (Media) Mob: +41 76 405 90 52


Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Motorsport UK British Rally Championship Scott Redding VisionTrack Ducati Paul Bird Alastair Seeley Josh Brookes Michael Laverty North West 200 Michael Dunlop Aragon Misano Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally James Ellison Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Frank Bird Hungaroring Ian Hutchinson Shane Byrne Macau GP Team WRT Team Parker Racing GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Tech 1 Racing Team Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Bentley Continental GT3 ​Tech 1 Racing Team Hospice at Home Carlisle Stages Rally Hankook Dubai 24 Hourrace Be Wiser Ducati Team Woodpecker Rally Arden Motorsport PBMUK Manx National Rally Wyedean Ducati Panigale R Sol Rally Barbados BSB Broc Parkes Donington Knockhill Stages Rally LDV Donington Park Rally Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Ford Focus WRC08 Brands Hatch Red Bull Ring Damian Cudlin VisionTrack Bennetts British Superbike Motegi Wyedean Forest Rally BTRDA Rally Series Isle of Man TT Indianapolis Grand Prix Rallynuts Stages Rally Jimmy Storrar Assen Thruxton Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Snetterton Sachsenring Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup RST Superbike TT Snetterton Stages Rally Malcolm Wilson Rally Yonny Hernandez BSB Showdown Martin Jessopp Christmas Stages Rally Danny Buchan Yas Marina Circuit Vision Track Croft Circuit Ford Focus WRC07 Donington Rally Mugello Brno Cadwell Park Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Somerset Stages Rally Nurburgring circuit Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Silverstone Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Grampian Forest Rally Stuart Easton F4 British Championship Cambrian Rally Red Bull Ring in Austria Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Qatar MotoGP John McGuinness Catalunya Jerez Christian Iddon Oulton Park British Superbike Championship Ford MSA Formula Silkolene Nicky Grist Stages Rally Autodromo Nazionale Monza North West Stages Rally BSB Champion Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Trackrod Rally Hockenheim Andrew Irwin Oulton Park, Rallying Glenn Irwin Ulster Grand Prix Valencia MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages M-Sport Stages Rally Phillip Island Le Mans Knockhill Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series MSVR Paul Ricard 1000km Down’s Syndrome Association Be Wiser Ducati V4R Sepang Spa-Francorchamps









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2021 pbmuk Limited.