Somerset Disappointment For Birthday Boy Bird

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Cumbrian rally driver Paul Bird's hopes of maintaining his lead in the 2015 REIS-RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Championship suffered a blow when he was forced out of today's Somerset Stages Rally after just two stages.

Following victory on the season opener Wyedean Stages Rally in February which he followed up with a second place on his local Malcolm Wilson Rally last month, the Langwathby driver made the long trip south to continue his assault on the title he narrowly missed out on last year.


Celebrating his birthday, Bird was second fastest up the Porlock Toll Road Stage before setting fastest time on the second run in the Frank Bird Poultry, Fuchs Titan Race, Hager and Mac Tools-backed Ford Focus WRC07 he was sharing with Welsh co-driver Aled Davies.


However, on the road section to the next stage, the car developed a technical problem when a water pump belt broke and unable to repair it as the temperature escalated, the 2005 ANCRO National Champion had no option but to retire.


Paul Bird: "It's disappointing but I had bad luck on this event last year also. I knew on the first run up the hill that something wasn't right with the car and it got no better on SS2 so it didn't surprise me there was a problem. Once I saw the temperature go off the gauge I knew it was game over. It's not a disaster as it's a round I will drop but it dents my hopes in the combined BTRDA Rally Challenge but I'm sure we can make up lost ground as the season progresses."

Bird will next be in action on the IMGold Manx National Rally, where he attempts a fourth win and which takes place on 8/9th May.

Image courtesy of James Ward/Chicane Media: Paul Bird and Aled Davies in action on today's Somerset Stages Rally from which they retired.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Somerset Stages Rally Woodpecker Rally Brands Hatch Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Red Bull Ring Arden Motorsport VisionTrack Ducati Manx National Rally PBMUK Rallying Cadwell Park Silverstone Sol Rally Barbados Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series Scott Redding Thruxton Ford Focus WRC07 M-Sport Stages Rally Hospice at Home Michael Laverty Ford Focus WRC08 MSVR Croft Circuit Ford MSA Formula VisionTrack Spa-Francorchamps Hankook Dubai 24 Hourrace Autodromo Nazionale Monza Andrew Irwin BTRDA Rally Series BSB Champion ​Tech 1 Racing Team Motorsport News with MSVR Circuit Rally Championship Nicky Grist Stages Rally Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Broc Parkes MGJ Engineering Brands Hatch Winter Stages North West Stages Rally Glenn Irwin Le Mans F4 British Championship TJS Self Drive Alan Healy Memorial Rally Be Wiser Ducati V4R BSB Showdown BSB Silkolene Frank Bird Indianapolis Grand Prix Josh Brookes Carlisle and North Lakeland Hospice at Home Snetterton Nurburgring circuit Wyedean Forest Rally Isle of Man TT Sepang John McGuinness Coppermines Grizedale Stages Rally Snetterton Stages Rally Alastair Seeley Ciceley Motorsport GT Team Down’s Syndrome Association Rallynuts Stages Rally RST Superbike TT Valencia Yonny Hernandez Aragon Stuart Easton Malcolm Wilson Rally Be Wiser Ducati Panigale V4 R Hockenheim Sol Rally Barbados 2014 Carlisle Stages Rally Donington Rally Misano Be Wiser Ducati Team Team Parker Racing Christmas Stages Rally MotoGP Paul Bird Brno LDV Donington Park Rally Donington Jerez Danny Buchan Red Bull Ring in Austria Shane Byrne Lee Holland Memorial Rally 2019 Bentley Continental GT3 GT World Challenge Endurance Cup Hungaroring Oulton Park Ford Parts Cheviot Stages Rally Wyedean Bennetts British Superbike Martin Jessopp Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship Ducati Panigale R Macau GP Tech 1 Racing Team Qatar British Superbike Championship Yas Marina Circuit Cambrian Rally Grampian Forest Rally Knockhill Assen Ulster Grand Prix Team WRT Mugello Knockhill Stages Rally Jimmy Storrar Motegi Vision Track Oulton Park, Damian Cudlin Christian Iddon Creventic 2 Hour of Dubai Phillip Island Sachsenring Motorsport UK British Rally Championship North West 200 Paul Ricard 1000km Trackrod Rally Michael Dunlop Ian Hutchinson James Ellison Catalunya









CA10 1NB

Copyright © 2021 pbmuk Limited.